From Humble Beginings

For my first post I thought I’d share some of the lovely things I’ve made over the last couple of years.

This clutch is made from some curtain fabric that came from my grandmas house. It’s an original 50’s print fabric and I love the design so much I have cushions on my sofa in the same fabric. This was one of the first bags I made and I included a little matching purse. The gold buttons come form a year I did working for Jaeger during my degree, maybe keep that a secret.

I love old linens and these beautifully crocheted pieces I imagine as vase mats or on an old fashion dressing tables. These days people don’t have much use for them and I find lots in charity shops and at markets. I hand appliqued the pieces to an organic linen to make  a couple of cushions, finished with vintage buttons on the reverse. There is still one left in my Etsy shop.

This necklace is made from a crocheted flower which I beaded and sequined. All the materials I use are up cycled, remnant pieces of wool, old necklaces for the beads and sparkly tops for the sequins. I love the idea of making something beautiful from peoples unwanted items. I’ve made lots of these over the last couple of years, people seem to have liked them, this one is still in my Etsy shop.

This was a bag I loved and was very sorry to see go when I sold it. I was filled with delight when I found a bag of old zips in a charity shop. I hand stiched them all on because it gives a cleaner higher quality finish. The lining is an Aboriginal print fabric. I think I still have some left I’ll maybe do another.

Finally this corsage, made from bits of material, up cycled beads and a vintage button.
More of the things I make are shared on my Pintrest Page and items for sale you’ll find at Etsy .

Leave a Reply

