An Embroidered Heirloom

My mum asked me to find a piece of embroidery I had from my grandma, Freda. It is a piece she had been working on but not finished before she died. I took up the challenge to continue the work but have to confess that I lost interest, then forgot about, then adopted two children. So it has sat in a draw for some years until the other week when my mum mentioned it.

My mum, like her mum and now myself included, find it difficult to sit in an evening without occupying  our hands. Crocheting, sewing, knitting, needlepoint, or any assortment of crafty activity will do. So the piece in question has been shown the light of day again and  offered  another chance to reach it’s final destination as an embroidered tablecloth. My mum intends to start the work again.

Mum thinks that grandma may have received the piece for a special birthday, around the 1970’s maybe her 60th. I still have the paper stencils which would have been carefully ironed onto the fabric to guide the embroider and some of the embroidery silks. I have however used some for other projects, so an improvisation of new colours will need to be thought out. The stitches used are fairly simple, blanket, back, bullion knots and french knots, however the task is time consuming and requires plenty of patience.

I am excited to see that this piece is to be worked on again and hope that I will also get to improve my contribution. I will keep you informed.

GRANDMA’S HANDY WORK

MY SMALL CONTRIBUTION

THE WORK TO BE DONE

4 thoughts on “An Embroidered Heirloom

  1. Pingback: An Embroidered Heirloom

  2. Gorgeous! I’ve got a similar heirloom from my Great Grandmother-in-law sitting in a drawer upstairs – I must admit I’m scared of getting it out until the kids are a bit older. as at the moment they are going through a ‘if we get out hands on a pen it’s carnage’ phase :/
    Gorgeous, look forward to seeing photos of when it’s finished – thanks for linking up x

  3. It’s wonderful! I used to love those things with the pattern printed on…still have some embroidery silks I used on a tablecloth when I was young. Ashamed to say I hardly do any today…look forward to seeing ti finished 🙂

Leave a Reply

